Teaching the resource

Teaching the resource

Easy-to-use, teacher-friendly 8-page Lesson Plans support the 3 stages of the gradual release of responsibility teaching process: model the strategy; supported practice; and independent practice.

Lesson Plans

Lesson Plan 1 – Model the strategy

Begin by teaching each strategy with a modeled lesson,
where the strategy is introduced to the group or whole class.

Lesson Plan 2 – Supported practice

Follow with a Supported practice lesson where students
work with partners to practice the strategy.

Lesson Plan 3 – Independent practice

When students have mastered the strategy, they work individually on Independent practice texts, which are at three levels of difficulty.

Teacher Resource Book

Further explanations and support are provided in the Teacher Resource Book.

Reading levels of texts
Links to Anchor Standards for Reading
Titles of texts, reading levels, and text types:
Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4
Further texts for each strategy:
Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4
Concepts for texts for each strategy
Quick Information about ESC and CCSS